My Tokyo Subway Experience

Coming from a country that only has 4 railway transport all over the metro, Tokyo subway lines for me are pretty overwhelming. I must admit that I got intimidated the first time I saw the map. Who wouldn’t be? Like how are we going to navigate through this without getting lost? But what I came to realize during my recent trip to Japan is that there is nothing to be afraid of or worried about riding a train. In fact, you’ll going to love it big time!

345e2b92531495ddd48de12b96497877
Our first try came out really funny. When we got off the airport, we immediately looked for the Keisei Sky Liner station since according to my research this is the line that will drop us straight to Asakusa without transfer. There are huge signage all around so wouldn’t get lost I promised. So we bought our ticket at Keisei desk. The Keisei officer handed us these tiny magnet like paper. I have no freaking idea how to use this thing. I am used to using plastic train cards back home. Our train will arrive at 11:05 AM and it is already 11:02 AM according to my watch. We are much in a hurry to get to our designated platform and I do not have time to ponder on things. So what I did was, I just followed what the woman in front of me did. I just tapped the ticket on the gate machine and passed through it. Well, it did not trigger the alarm so I guess what I did was right. So here’s the thing. When we are about to alight in Asakusa, I brought out my ticket and here’s the next thing that happened:

Emil: Why do you still have the ticket?

Me: I just tapped it on the gate. 

Emil: You should have inserted it in the machine at the gates!

Me: But it did not alarm. So maybe I am right? But how could you get out of the station without your ticket? You’re suppose to insert it back at the Asakusa gate to get out right?

Emil: *Blank stare*

To cut the story short, we both committed a big joke. First, I should have not tapped it, I should have inserted it in the gate machine slot. Second, though Emil was right about inserting the ticket, he failed to get the ticket back when the machine ejected it. Poor us! So the next thing is, how do we managed to get out of the station? So I first tried to insert my ticket in the machine slot at the exit to see whether it will let me out and needless to say, I am unsuccessful. So I  immediately approach the train station attendant who stands at the right end of the gate and explained what happened to us. But unfortunately, he can’t understand English. He looked so flustered and all. I tried to narrate again what happened, slower this time, but he didn’t even let me finish what I am saying. He just make this little gesture like he is allowing us to pass through the by-pass gate. ARIGATOU GOZAIMASU! Funny experience, isn’t it?

WHY YOU SHOULDN’T AFRAID OF JAPAN TRAINS or BETTER YET, WHY YOU WILL LOVE TOKYO TRAINS? I tell you why:

  1. SIGNS EVERYWHERE! There are signage everywhere the station that will guide you where you wanted to go. Most of the important signs are in English so you will not have trouble deciphering things. These signs will guide you which platform you should be going, what train track you should be facing (sometimes there are trains that utilizes the same platform but of different route), what time the next train will arrive, which way to the exit, and a whole lot more!
    p3-chubu-a-20140524
    Source: http://www.japantimes.co.jp

    metro01
    Source:yamanoterider.wordpress.com
  2. HEY! I AM MULTILINGUAL! Most, if not all,ticket vending machines have English display menu. Also, most of the announcements inside the trains are multilingual. The voice over inside the trains translates each announcements in English and Chinese. You will know what station the train is heading, what station will the next stop be, which side of the train door will open, what are the available connecting train lines in a certain station (in case you need to make a transfer) or which train track is currently experiencing a technical problem so you’ll know right away, in case you’ll be riding that track, if you have to make a detour. You are definitely not out of place.
    img_9020
    Announcement inside the train (Source: http://www.everwas.com)
  3. ON TIME! All trains are precisely on time. They will never let you down. 🙂
  4. TOKYO DRIFT. Fast turnover of train carts. You do not have to wait for too long in case you are not able to catch the previous train.
  5. SO COMFY! The cushioned seats and heater! Ugh! perfect for the winter!

    subway-18
    Source:www.bartman905.wordpress.com
  6. COOL AS THE WEATHER:Polite and well-mannered Tokyoites. Everyone falls in line as courtesy to those who came in earlier. They calmly get inside the train. Definitely no pushing! No one’s eating nor chatting out loud inside. In short, everyone is behaving in a civilized manner.

    perfect_queue
    Source:www.gadventures.com

Overall, I did enjoy the whole experience of riding Tokyo trains. I considered the trains as the most reliable and efficient companion during our whole trip in Tokyo.

I hope I was able to help you popped some bubble thoughts in your head. I am pretty sure that you would also love it there!

Please check out my blog  HOW TO BUY TRAIN TICKET IN TOKYO for more details about Tokyo trains.

Frani

 

 

One Comment Add yours

Leave a comment